The Michael Cage MVP Award

Editor's Note It saddens me to have to "Steve Harvey" this post. In my initial code, I had a bug that left out one team per season, and this was often the Timberwolves. Dr. Ryan Pepper noted in the comment section that I missed Kevin Love in 2011, so I was able to correct this quickly. However, this does change some of the award winners, and I'll be renaming it to the "Michael Cage MVP" award, as he was the first player to earn it twice, and back to back!

Nothing is more tragic than a star player without support. They're unlikely to get MVP consideration. Their lack of playoff success will be held against them, even though it's hard to compete in the playoffs without a good team. That's why I want to give an award to the best players with the least support in NBA history. I introduce to you the "Michael Cage MVP Award", for players that play great on teams lacking in support.

My criteria was:

  • At least 10.0 wins (basically, a star performance.)
  • The biggest gap in how many Wins Produced their teammates put up versus how many Wins Produced they put up.

Straightforward I hope. I named it after Michael Cage as he is the first back-to-back winner, and so far the only player to make the list with teammates putting up negative wins. Here are the other "winners."

Season Player Team Wins Support Wins
2015 Ed Davis Los Angeles Lakers 11.4 11.5
2014 Andre Drummond Detroit Pistons 18.1 13.4
2013 Nicolas Batum Portland Trail Blazers 10.3 21.9
2012 Chris Paul Los Angeles Clippers 14.8 23.8
2011 Kevin Love Minnesota Timberwolves 17.7 5.8
2010 Marcus Camby Los Angeles Clippers 10.5 13.3
2009 Marcus Camby Los Angeles Clippers 10.3 7.6
2008 David Lee New York Knicks 11.2 12.5
2007 Jason Kidd Brooklyn Nets 18.7 23.4
2006 Kevin Garnett Minnesota Timberwolves 20.8 23
2005 Josh Childress Atlanta Hawks 10.1 5.4
2004 Andrei Kirilenko Utah Jazz 17.1 20.5
2003 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons 22.4 28.4
2002 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons 23.4 22.9
2001 Fred Hoiberg Chicago Bulls 10.3 6.8
2000 Dikembe Mutombo Atlanta Hawks 19.9 6.7
1999 Jason Kidd Phoenix Suns 12 16.6
1998 Bo Outlaw Orlando Magic 17.1 21
1997 Ervin Johnson Denver Nuggets 12.6 11.8
1996 Dikembe Mutombo Denver Nuggets 14.7 19.5
1995 Dana Barros Philadelphia 76ers 15.1 12
1994 Clarence Weatherspoon Philadelphia 76ers 11.1 8.9
1993 Micheal Williams Minnesota Timberwolves 10.1 10.2
1992 Dennis Rodman Detroit Pistons 29.8 16.3
1991 Charles Barkley Philadelphia 76ers 19.4 21.5
1990 Muggsy Bogues New Orleans Pelicans 13.8 6.5
1989 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls 26.5 18.9
1988 Michael Cage Los Angeles Clippers 14.3 -0.8
1987 Michael Cage Los Angeles Clippers 13.2 -2.6
1986 Alvin Robertson San Antonio Spurs 17.7 18.2
1985 Larry Smith Golden State Warriors 12.6 8.8
1984 T.R. Dunn Denver Nuggets 16.6 21.4
1983 Rickey Green Utah Jazz 12.5 17.1
1982 Adrian Dantley Utah Jazz 13 12.8
1981 Terry Tyler Detroit Pistons 11.8 12
1980 Micheal Ray Richardson New York Knicks 19.3 18.5
1979 Cedric Maxwell Boston Celtics 18.4 8.8
1978 John Lucas Houston Rockets 12.5 17.6

Some more fun notes:

  • The Clippers and Pistons own this award, both having players that make the list five times.
  • Ben Wallace, Dikembe Mutombo, Jason Kidd, Marcus Camby, and Michael Cage are all two-time award winners!
  • Jason Kidd and Dikembe Mutombo all make the list with two different squads.
  • Michael Cage, Ben Wallace, and Marcus Camby all have "back to back" wins.
  • Michael Jordan's 1989 was absurd. He lost a close MVP race to Magic Johnson, but was easily the best player in the NBA.
  • Michael Cage is the only player on this list that actually got negative support from his teammates!

That was fun! We'll keep you updated on this year's winner at the end of the season. I don't want to spoil it, but much like Steph Curry is running away with the MVP award race, Jimmy Butler is running away with this award race.